Accessibility links

Breaking News

Tsvangirai Appoints 21-Member Zimbabwe Shadow Cabinet

Former Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai addressing journalists in Harare Wednesday, September 18, 2013. - VOA
Movement for Democratic Change (MDC) leader Morgan Tsvangirai on Wednesday announced a 21-member shadow cabinet which he said will monitor and check the performance of President Robert Mugabe’s cabinet, providing checks and balances as the main opposition party in the country as the labour-backed organisation begins to look ahead to the 2018 national elections.

Mr. Tsvangirai said the shadow cabinet will work with the party’s lawmakers and local authorities to ensure service delivery and development assistance to various communities around the country.

He explains the shadow cabinet will, among other things, articulate an alternative development path through promoting legislation in parliament.

The shadow cabinet comprises Tendai Biti, Finance and Economic Development, Gorden Moyo (International Relations and Co-operation), Gift Chimanikire (Defence), Thamsanqa Mahlangu (Environment, Tourism and Natural Resources), Ruth Labode (Health and Child Welfare) and Sesel Zvidzai (Local Government).

Elias Mudzuri is the shadow transport minister, Nelson Chamisa (Communications), Abednic Bhebhe (Mines and Minerals Development), Morgen Komichi (Energy and Power Development), Sipepa Nkomo (Agriculture, Land and Water Development), Jessie Majome (Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs).

Lillian Timveous will shadow the Ministry of Home Affairs, Tapiwa Mashakada (Industry and Commerce), Paurina Mpariwa (Labour, Employment and Social Security), Lucia Matibenga (Women Affairs), Solomon Madzore (Youth Sports and Culture), Joel Gabuza (Public Works and National Housing), Peter Matarutse (Higher Education, Science and Technology) and Concillia Chinanzvana (Basic Education).

Mr. Tsvangirai also appointed a five-member planning commission headed by Jameson Timba to look into the party’s plans and review them from time to time. Other members of the commission are Theresa Makone, Tongai Matutu, Elton Mangoma and party spokesman, Douglas Mwonzora.

Mr. Tsvangirai said his party is investigating some of its councilors who voted for Zanu-PF candidates in mayoral elections this week, adding appropriate action would be taken.

Some MDC-T councilors voted for Zanu-PF candidates in towns and cities such as Victoria Falls, Redcliff, Kwekwe and Mutare.

The MDC-T Manicaland provincial executive Wednesday expelled four councilors suspected of voting for a Zanu-PF councilor, Collin Mkwada, to deputise the MDC mayor Tatenda Nhamarare. The four include new mayor Nhamarare of Ward 8, Pamela Mutare of Ward 2, Farai Bhiza (Ward 11) and Richard Mupfura (Ward 16).

Tsvangirai said he would not relinguish his position as party leader, pouring cold water on calls from some from within his party calling for his resignation. He told the media he has no plans to resign, adding he will lead the party until the next congress in 2016 when leadership will be reviewed.