Accessibility links

Breaking News

ZIFA Reinstates Warriors Coach Kalisto Pasuwa

Reinstated ... Warriors coach Calisto Pasuwa. (Photo: ZIFA website)

The Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA) has reinstated Warriors coach, Kalisto Pasuwa, fired on Thursday.

This follows a public outcry over the sacking of the coach and his entire technical team announced by ZIFA vice president Omega Sibanda while the association’s boss Phillip Chiyangwa was on leave.

In a message posted on the ZIFA website, Chiyangwa said, “I have conferred with the vice president Mr. Omega Sibanda and all members of the executive committee. We have agreed that in the interest of the nation and the beautiful game, coach Kalisto Pasuwa and his entire technical team be reinstated with immediate effect.

“Differences are normal in any institution but it is imperative to solve them in an amicable manner. Pasuwa is a very successful coach and undeniably one of the highly qualified coaches in the country.

He said the association "will inevitably render him necessary support as he prepares for the 2016 CHAN finals.

“We are very confident that his wonderful exploits will bring success and glory to our football loving nation.”

Pasuwa has been asked to return as part of ZIFA’s reconciliation efforts. It was uncertain that the coach will accept the post, which he has been holding without a contract.

Indications are that the ZIFA CHAN soccer camp commences Sunday and normal training sessions are expected to start on Monday.

Zimbabwe are in group D alongside Zambia, Mali and Uganda.



Elvis Chipezeze (Chicken Inn FC), Tatenda Mkuruva (Dynamos FC), Takabva Mawaya (Hwange Colliery FC), Donovan Bernard (How Mine FC)


Stephen Makatuka (CAPS United FC), Blessing Moyo (Dynamos FC), Bruce Kangwa (Highlanders FC), Ocean Mushure (Dynamos FC), Elisha Muroiwa (Dynamos FC), Teenage Hadebe (Highlanders FC), Lawrence Mhlanga (Chicken Inn FC ), Hardlife Zvirekwi (CAPS United FC) Farai Madhananga (Flame lily FC)


Nqobizitha Masuku (Highlanders FC), Tichaona Chipunza (Triangle FC), Ronald Chitiyo (Dynamos FC), Raphael Manuvire (ZPC Kariba FC), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Chicken Inn FC), Goerge Majika (Chicken Inn FC), Marshall Mudehwe (FC Platinum), William Manondo (Harare City FC), Danny Phiri (Chicken Inn FC), Gerald Takwara (FC Platinum), Joel Ngodzo (Caps United FC) Hilary Bakacheza (Triangle United FC)


Pritchard Mpelele (Hwange Colliery FC), Rodreck Mutuma (Dynamos FC), Edmore Chirambadare (Chicken Inn FC), Brian Muzondiwa (FC Platinum), Francisco Zikumbawire (Harare City FC), Knox Mtizwa ( Highlanders FC), Moses Demera (Flame Lily FC)


Group A: Rwanda, Gabon, Morocco, Cote d’Ivoire

Group B: DR Congo, Angola, Cameroon, Ethiopia

Group C: Tunisia, Nigeria, Niger, Guinea

Group D: Zimbabwe, Mali, Uganda, Zambia.