Accessibility links

Breaking News

MDC-T's Mwonzora Defeats Chamisa to Land Post of Secretary General

FILE: Zimbabwe Prime Minister and Movement For Democratic Change (MDC) leader Morgan Tsvangirai (L) and National Organising Secretary Nelson Chamisa present a booklet at the launch of Conditions for a Sustainable Election in Zimbabwe (COSEZ) in Harare, March 8

The contest for the powerful post of secretary general in the Movement for Democratic Change led by Morgan Tsvangirai is over after former legislator Douglas Mwonzora beat Kuwadzana East Member of Parliament, Nelson Chamisa, in elections held last night at the party’s 4th congress in Harare.

In a Twitter and Facebook message, the party said the former Nyanga North MP, who was the party’s secretary for information before the MDC-T congress, is part of the National Standing Committee comprising party leader Morgan Tsvangirai (president), Thokozani Khuphe (deputy president), Lovemore Moyo (chairman), Morgen Komichi (deputy national chairman), Paurina Mpariwa (deputy secretary general), Theresa Makone (treasurer general) and Charlton Hwende (deputy treasurer general).

The other members are Abednico Bhebhe (organizing secretary), Thamsanqa Mahlangu (deputy organizing secretary), Obert Gutu (secretary for information and publicity), Thabitha Khumalo (deputy information and publicity secretary), Lynnette Karenyi Kore (Women’s Assembly chairperson) and Happymore Chidziva (Youth Assembly chairperson).

Reports say Mwonzora got 2,464 votes against Chamisa's 1,756 votes. Chamisa, who was the MDC-T organizing secretary, has not uttered a word following his defeat. The post was held by former Finance Minister Tendayi Biti, who is now part of the MDC Renewal Team, which dumped party leader Tsvangirai and his close associates claiming that he is a dictator and does not have the stamina to dislodge Zanu PF from power.

Some top members of the committee retained their positions unopposed.