Accessibility links

Breaking News

Zimbabwe Army: We Have Nothing to do With Zanu PF Factionalism

Vice President Joice Mujuru is currently under siege from an alleged faction led by Justice Minister Emmerson Mnangagwa.

The Zimbabwe National Army (ZNA) says it has nothing to do with Zanu PF factionalism currently ravaging the party ahead of its elective congress in December.

In an interview with VOA Studio 7, ZNA spokesman Lieutenant Colonel Oversin Mugwisi said members of the defence forces are not interested in the Zanu PF conflict pitting rival factions fighting for the control of the party.

The army’s remarks come at a time when the party’s Politburo last Thursday suspended Zanu PF spokesman Rugare Gumbo and expelled war veterans leader Jabulani Sibanda.

They are alleged to be backing a faction of the party that is said to be led by Vice President Joice Mujuru. Her group is alleged to be fighting against another one believed to be led by Justice Minister Emmerson Mnangagwa.

The Mujuru camp appears to be currently on the receiving end following the suspension of these two and several provincial chairpersons alleged to be supporting her for vice presidential posts in the forthcoming party congress.

The camp that lands these positions will be at a striking distance to net the presidential seat currently under the tight grip of President Robert Mugabe, who has ruled the country since independence from British rule in 1980.

Political analyst Dumisani Nkomo of Harbakuk Trust told VOA Studio 7 the army cannot be ruled out of Zanu PF politics.

please wait

No media source currently available

0:00 0:01:28 0:00
Direct link

On Thursday, acting party spokesman, Simon Khaya Moyo who is the Zanu PF chairman, announced that the Politburo had also suspended Central Committee member, Enock Porusingazi, for five years and upheld several votes of no confidence passed on provincial leaders including Andrew Langa of Matabeleland South Province, who has allegedly been removed from the party’s regional executive council.

Moyo said the Politburo confirmed the vote of no confidence on Masvingo chairperson, Callisto Gwanetsa, Midlands chairperson Jason Machaya and Amos Midzi of Harare province. Manicaland chairman, John Shumba Mvundura, was given a written reprimand.

Khaya Moyo noted that the party had further upheld the votes of no confidence on Masvingo Women’s League chairperson, Shylet Uyoyo, and Youth League leaders Tongai Mangomana and Oliver Huruva.

All these top officials are said to be supporters of the vice president.