Accessibility links

Breaking News

Sports Commission Postpones Zim Hall of Fame Inductions

Peter Ndlovu is one of those expected to grace the Hall of Fame. (File Photo)
The Sports and Recreation Commission has cancelled the Hall of Fame inductions which had been set before the end of this month.

The Hall of Fame inductions were cancelled following the Commission's failure to find a sponsor to bankroll the process, which would have seen 10 sportspersons being inducted into the Zimbabwean Sports Hall of Fame.

The event was set to be held before the end of this month but the spokesperson of the government-controlled Sports and Recreation Commission Tirivashe Nheweyembwa says this will no longer be the case.

Nheweyembwa says they have now set their sights on honouring the sports icons in June next year, adding they are still looking for a partner to finance the event.

Nheweyembwa says the 10 new inductees will be drawn from all the sporting associations affiliated to the Sports and Recreation Commission.

The inductions will come nine years after the first sportspersons were inducted in 2005.

Among the first inductees of the Hall of Fame were footballer George Shaya, sprinter Artwell Mandaza, boxer Langton Schoolboy Tinago, shooter David Westerhout, diver Evan Stewart and the women’s hockey team that won a gold medal at the 1980 Olympic Games in Moscow.

Although traditionally there are no monetary rewards or prizes to go along with the induction, Nheveyembwa says they will consider a token of appreciation for those chosen.

Among some of those expected to make it into the Hall of Fame are footballer Peter Ndlovu, golfer Nick Price, cricketer Andy Flower, who is coaching the England national team, tennis brothers Byron and Wayne Black as well as the late Richard Tsimba.

Tsimba, along with brother Kennedy, were in 2012 inducted into the International Rugby Board’s Hall of Fame.

The Zimbabwean sports Hall of Fame is situated at the National Gallery in Harare.