Accessibility links

Breaking News

Zimbabwe Kicks Off Voter Registration Blitz

Zimbabwe Electoral Commission.

Zimbabwe on Tuesday kicked off its voter registration “blitz” throughout the country, in what officials hope will be a signal for hundreds to hurry to various centers to register to vote in the 2018 general elections.

The voter registration process, which was officially launched by President Robert Mugabe at the State House in September, aims to enroll seven million eligible voters into the system, before the end of January.

Following disputed outcomes in previous elections and allegations of voter fraud, the country has ditched the old paper system in favor of the fool-proof Biometric Voter Registration (BVR) kits, which will use finger prints, eye pupils and other tamper-proof ways to ensure that only those registered can vote, and only once.

The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) has secured 3,000 BVR kits for the registration process, and will be rotating them around the country, during its four-phase registration period.

The first phase of the registration process kicked off Tuesday, October 10 and will end on Wednesday, October 25th. Three other phases will follow through December 19th. Registration will take place in 63-districts in all of the country’s 10 Provinces.

For details of the voter registration centers, visit Below is a synopsis of the various districts for the 1st Phase, extracted from the ZEC website.

Bulawayo Metropolitan:

  • Bulawayo Central
  • Bulawayo East
  • Makokoba

Harare Metropolitan:

Chitungwiza: St. Mary’s Zengeza East & West, Chitungwiza North


Harare Central


Highfield East



Mount Pleasant

Mabvuku Tafara


Chipinge – Central, West, East And South


Chimanimani – East & West

Mutare – South & West

Buhera South

Mashonaland Central:

Mbire – Guruve North

Muzarabani – North & South

Mt. Darwin – North & West

Mashonaland East:

Mudzi – North, West & South

Mutoko – East, North And South

Uzumba – Maramba Pfungwe

Mashonaland West:

Kariba – Nyaminyami

Hurungwe – Magunje, Central, East, North & West


Chiredzi – East, West, South & North

Mwenezi – East & West

Chivi – South

Matabeleland North:

Lupane – East & West

Binga – North & South

Matabeleland South:

Umzingwane – Matobo North & Umbzingwane

Insiza – Insiza, North & South


Gwokwe North –

Gokwe Kabuyuni

Gokwe – Chireya

Gokwe – Nembudziya

Gokwe – Gumunyu

Gokwe South -

Gokwe Mapfungauta

Gokwe Central

Gokwe Kana

Gokwe Sengwa

Facebook Forum