Accessibility links

Breaking News

Jonathan Moyo Bounces Back in Zimbabwe Cabinet

New Justice Minister Emmerson Mnangagwa and Information Minister Jonathan Moyo
New Justice Minister Emmerson Mnangagwa and Information Minister Jonathan Moyo
Jonathan Moyo bounced back Tuesday as Media and Information Minister as President Robert Mugabe recycled his old guard to occupy cabinet posts.

Mr. Mugabe unveiled his team at the State House with Moyo’s return being the biggest talking point.

President Mugabe finally announced his new cabinet more than a month after the July 31 disputed elections and two weeks after he was sworn into office.

Former Tsholotsho legislator Jonathan Moyo, the architect of the Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act, bounced back as information minister replacing Webster Shamu who has been re-assigned to the Information and Communication Technology and Courier Services Ministry.

His deputy will be former ZBC journalist Supa Mandiwanzira, who owns Zi-Fm, an independent radio station licensed recently.

Moyo told VOA studio 7 he will exercise his duties in line with Zanu PF policies and Mr. Mugabe’s directives. He also spoke about reforms he may introduce.

MR. Mugabe appointed Walter Chidhakwa, who comes from Zvimba, Mines Minister replacing Obert Mpofu who has been moved to the Transport Ministry.

Announcing the new look cabinet, the Chief Secretary in the Office of the President and Cabinet, Misheck Sibanda, said former Justice Minister Patrick Chinamasa will head the Finance Ministry replacing Tendai Biti of the Movement for Democratic Change.

Former Defence Minister Emmerson Mnangagwa takes over from Chinamasa as justice minister.

In place of Mnangagwa, Mr. Mugabe appointed Sydney Sekeramayi as the new Defence Minister.

Outspoken Dzikamai Mavhaire was appointed Energy Minister replacing Elton Mangoma of the MDC-T who lost his seat in the July 31 polls.

Former Minister of Youth and Indeginization, Saviour Kasukuwere was re-deployed to the Environment, Water and Climate Ministry taking over from Francis Nhema who was moved to his former ministry.

Kembo Mohadi retained the Home Affairs Ministry which he co-supervised during the lifetime of the unity government.

Only four women managed to grab cabinet portfolios – these are Oppah Muchinguri who was appointed Minister of Women’s Affairs, Higher Education Minister Olivia Muchena, Sithembiso Nyoni who retained her Small and Medium Enterprises Ministry and Flora Buka, Minister of State for Presidential Affairs.

Zanu PF national chairman Simon Khaya Moyo, who is being tipped by many to become the second vice president to replace the late John Nkomo, was appointed a Senior Minister of State.

Sibanda also announced that President Mugabe has appointed provincial ministers in line with the new constitution that dealt away with provincial governors.

Ignatius Chombo, who is being investigated by the Anti-Corruption Commission for using his powers to illegally acquire several properties countrywide, retained his local government portfolio.

Chombo told VOA Studio 7 he is ready to ensure that all Zimbabweans have access to basic services.

The ministers and their deputies are expected to be sworn in at State House on Wednesday.

Of all the ministers and their deputies appointed by President Mugabe on Tuesday, none of them is from the opposition after the MDC-T said it will snub any cabinet post in protest of the July 31 polls which the party says was rigged in President Mugabe and Zanu PF’s favour.

Other ministers include the following:
Cabinet reduced from 33 to 26
Simon Khaya Moyo Senior Minister of State.
Flora Bhuka Minister of State in the President’s office.
Andrew Langa, Sports and Culture

David Parirenyatwa – Health and Child Care

Kembo Mohadi – Home Affairs

Oppah Muchinguri – Women Affairs, Gender and Community Development

Mike Bimha – Industry and Commerce

Nicholas Goche – Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare

Walter Chidhakwa – Mines and Mining Development

Obert Mpofu – Transport and Infrastructural Development

Sithembiso Nyoni – Small and Medium Enterprises and Cooperative Development

Simon Khaya Moyo – Senior Minister of State

Joseph Made – Agriculture Mechanisation and Irrigation

Flora Buka – Minister of State for Presidential Affairs

Josiah Hungwe – Minister of State for Liaising on Psychomotor Activities in EducationVocational Training

Sylvester Nguni – Minister of State in Vice President’s office

Cabinet has been reduced from 33 to 26

The President appointed 5 non-constituency ministers in terms of the new constitution. They are Prof Jonathan Moyo, Lazarus Dokora, Dr Joseph Made, Martin Dinha and Faber Chidarikire

Ministers of State for Provincial Affairs:

Bulawayo – Eunice Moyo

Harare – Mirriam Chikukwa

Manicaland – Chris Mushowe

Mash Central – Martin Dinha

Mash West – Faber Chidarikire

Mash East – Simbaneuta Mudarikwa

Masvingo – Kudakwashe Bhasikiti

Matebeleland North – Cain Mathema

Matabeleland South – Abednico Ncube

Midlands – Jason Machaya

Deputy Ministers:

Davis Marapira and Paddy Zhanda – Deputy Ministers of Agriculture

Dr Sekeramayi has no deputy at the moment

Ziyambi Ziyambi – Deputy Minister of Home Affairs

Alice Mabuwa – Deputy Minister of Industry and commerce

Munacho Mutezo – Deputy Minister of Energy

Simon Musanhu – Deputy minister of Environment

Dr Samuel Undenge – Deputy Minister of Finance

Dr Paul Chimedza – Deputy Minister of Health and Child Care

Tendai Savanhu – Deputy Minister of Lands and Rural Resettlement

Biggie Matiza – Deputy Minister of Local Government Public Works and National Housing

Noveti Mukonora – Deputy Minister of Small and Medium Enterprises

Tabeth Malinga – Deputy Minister of Sport, Arts and Culture

Petronella Kagonye – Deputy Minister of Transport and Infrastructural Development

Abigail Damasane – Deputy Minister of Women’s Affairs

Fortune Chasi – Deputy Minister of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs

Fred Moyo – Deputy Minister of Mines and Mining Development

Walter Kanhanga – Deputy Minister of Tourism and Hospitality Industry

Supa Mandiwanzira – Media, Information and Broadcasting Services