Accessibility links

Breaking News

Zanu PF Lawmakers Lose Primary Elections

Zanu PF concluded its primary elections Wednesday with the shock defeat of a number of sitting lawmakers, including Chivi Central Member of Parliament (MP) Paul Mangwana, who represented the party in the constitution reform exercise.

In fact, all three Chivi legislators were replaced. The other two are Tranos Huruva, MP for Chivi North and Irvine Dzingirai, representing Chivi South.

Other losing lawmakers include Gwanda South MP Orders Mlilo and Fred Kanzama, who represents Mutare South.

There were unconfirmed reports that party spokesman Rugare Gumbo had also been defeated.

National police spokesman Oliver Mandipaka won in Buhera West. The primaries were characterized by a high voter turnout, but marred by logistical glitches.

Officials said late Wednesday counting was still underway in different parts of the country.

Zanu PF provincial chairman for Matabeleland South and MP for Insiza North, Andrew Langa, is one of the high-profile legislators who were retained.

"The main thrust was to select the candidates, those brave men and women who will represent Zanu PF in the coming harmonized elections," said Langa.

"I happen to be one of those man who was elected, and I have no doubt that I will win the general election and continue representing my constituency come election time."

Political analyst Effie Dlela Ncube commented that Zanu PF's high voter turnout should be a great cause for concern for the party's opponents, especially the Movement for Democratic Change formations.