Accessibility links

Breaking News

MDC Divided Over Misihairabwi's Parliament Nomination

Priscilla Misihairambwi-Mushonga
Some national executive members of the MDC formation led by Professor Welshman Ncube have expressed outrage at the selection of party secretary general Priscilla Misihairambwi Mushonga to represent Matabeleland South in Parliament under the proportional representation quota.

Former lawmakers Moses Mzila Ndlovu, Siyabonga Malandu Ncube and Patrick Dube, all high ranking party members in Matabeleland South, held a meeting with Ncube and demanded he withdraws Misihairambwi-Mushonga's nomination and appoint someone from the province.

Misihairambwi-Mushonga is a known Harare resident where she has previously been voted member of parliament. But apparently sensing defeat in the just-ended elections, she registered to contest in Umzingwane, Matabeleland South, where she lost to a Zanu PF candidate.

Malandu-Ncube told VOA Monday following their meeting with Welshman Ncube he hoped Misihairabwi-Mushonga will not be sworn-in come Tuesday.

"We hope that our party president will do what we are asking him to do and appoint someone from the province," he said.

Meanwhile, the MDC formation of former Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai said it’s not going back on its decision to boycott the official opening of parliament by President Robert Mugabe Tuesday.

The party is protesting the outcome of the July 31 polls Mr. Tsvangirai says were rigged in Zanu PF’s favour.

MDCT spokesman Douglas Mwonzora said his party will not legitimize President Mugabe’s controversial re-election by attending the official opening of the eighth parliament of Zimbabwe.

Mwonzora, however, said MDC T MPs-elect will be sworn-in by Clerk of Parliament Austin Zvoma along with other elected lawmakers from other parties.

Mwonzora said his party will also not participate in elections to pick the speakers for the house of parliament and senate.