Accessibility links

Breaking News

Dynamos Crowned Champions For Third Consecutive Season

Dynamos Football Club players
Dynamos have retained the Premier Soccer League title for the third consecutive season after beating Black Mambas 2-0 to pip favourites Harare City and Bulawayo giants Highlanders to coveted title on goal difference.

VOA Sports Correspondent Michael Kariati, who was at the National Sports Stadium where local boys, Harare City failed to beat Caps United to lift their maiden title, says the situation was subdued as fans saw their hopes dying as their team drew 2-2 with Makepekepe.

At the end of the day Dynamos, Highlanders and Harare City finished the season on 54 points but the Glamour Boys nicked the title on goal difference.

Dynamos fans hailed Caps United, their long-time rival, for holding Harare City to a draw, helping them clinch the title on goal difference.

At Rufaro Stadium Dembare beat Black Mambas 2-0 while at the Barbourfields Stadium title contenders Highlanders beat Shabanie Mine 3-1 as the curtain came down on the 2013 Premier Soccer League Championship.

The Bulawayo giants failed to score enough goals to pip rivals Dynamos to the title so the crown failed to exchange hands and remains in Harare.

DeMbare, City and Bosso both finished the season with 54 points, but Dynamos won the crown for the third consecutive season on goal difference.

“The day is ours once again, we are very happy to be lifting the cup for the third consecutive time,” said an elated Tichaona Gava, a Dynamos fan. “Next time we will win back what we lost this year, which is the Mbada Diamonds Cup. Well done to Pasuwa and the boys.”

Mambas has now been condemned to Division 1 following its defeat by Dynamos, joining Motor Action, Monomotapa and Tripple B, who have also been relegated.