Accessibility links

Breaking News

Short List for New Zimbabwe Electoral Commission Goes to President Mugabe

The Zimbabwe Parliament's committee on standing rules and orders has forwarded the names of 12 candidates for the country's new Electoral Commission to President Mugabe, who will select eight members and the chairman of the new body.

The short list includes members of the previous - and controversial - Zimbabwe Electoral Commission, including Joyce Kazembe, Theophellus Gambe and Sibongile Ndlovu.

New nominees include University of Zimbabwe Professor Geoff Feltoe, Rev. Goodwill Shana of the Christian Alliance, Anti-Corruption Commission member Phillip Mazorodze and Zimbabwe Tourism Authority General Manager Phillip Chigaru.

Committee member Tongai Matutu explained to reporter Brenda Moyo of VOA's Studio 7 for Zimbabwe the criteria used to select the short list sent to Mr. Mugabe.

More reports from VOA's Studio 7 for Zimbabwe...