Accessibility links

Breaking News

Constitutional Revision Edges Ahead in Zimbabwe; Consultative Panel Chairs Named

Zimbabwe's Parliamentary Select Committee for Constitutional Reform has made selections of chairpersons for 17 thematic committees that will conduct public consultations, and will soon release the names of 17 civic activists chosen as deputy chairpersons to those panels.

The state-controlled Herald newspaper said the thematic committee chairpersons include former Health Minister David Parirenyatwa for ZANU-PF, Thabitha Khumalo for the Movement for Democratic Change wing of Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai, and Silanda Ncube for the MDC formation led by Deputy Prime Minister Arthur Mutambara, among others.

Select Committee Co-Chairman Douglas Mwonzora told reporter Jonga Kandemiiri of VOA's Studio 7 for Zimbabwe that deputy chairs from civil society will be announced shortly.

More reports from VOA's Studio 7 for Zimbabwe...